Queensland government structure

The structure of the Queensland government is similar to the Federal except that Queensland is the only Australian state to have a unicameral (or single chamber) parliament. Other states, along with the Federal Parliament, have two chambers of Parliament, commonly referred to as the Upper and Lower Houses. Queensland did have an Upper House, the Legislative Council, until 1922 when it was abolished.

separation of Powers-QLD Government


Figure 5: The Queensland System of Government

Last modified: Tuesday, 10 September 2013, 11:58 AM